Events

FAFSA & WASFA Completion Workshops:

Come prepared for the filing process with your most recent tax returns (2016 is fine), W2's and information about income (Social Security, business income, etc.)

Please see your Career Counselor for more information on the 2017 - 2018 event dates.
FAFSA 1.jpgFAFSA 2.jpg

College Depot

(Free Summer program - More Info Coming 2018)

Capture_College_Depot_video.JPG 
 

College Depot  at the Tacoma Public Library  is a 6 Week College Planning Series: Learn how to navigate college and career selection, admissions, finding scholarships, and the financial aid process in this multipart,  hands-on series.


2018 Dates: TBD  

Time: TBD 
Location: TBD 
Register
What: Free College Planning Series: Learn how to navigate college and career selection, admissions, finding scholarships, and the financial aid process in this 2-week series.
Here are a few example workshops from last summer:

Session 1: -  Know your options, research colleges, find the right fit. College Presenters: College Navigator Panel, Jessica Freier, Pierce College, jfreier@pierce.ctc.edu, Zach McKinlay, UW, zachMcK@uw.edu

Session 2: - Writing the personal statement for college and scholarship applications.  Presenter: Write@253, Wendy Holcomb, Graduate Tacoma, Zach McKinlay, UW,

Session 3: -  Applying to College: 2 and 4-year process. Presenters: Maria Reyes, UWT, mariar9@uw.edu , Janet Holm, Clover Park Technical College?

Session 4: -  Finding Scholarships. Presenters: Act 6, Taylor Tibbs, ttibbs@northwestleadership.org, Victoria West, WCAN, vwest@wcan.org, WSOS – Kyle Roffler, Graduate Tacoma, kroffler@graduatetacoma.org , Palmer Scholars?

Session 5: - Paying for college – financial aid resources. *Special session for parents and in English and Spanish.  Presenters: TCC – Shirley Siloi?, Ready to Rise, Lori Parrish?

Session 6: - Preparing for the fall semester, staying organized and on track. Presenters: Brittany Jackson, UPS, bjackson@pugetsound.edu  

*Students attending all 6 workshop will be entered for a laptop award!


Questions? 
Contact the Tacoma Public Schools Community Partnership Office by phone at 253-571-7980 or email communitypartnership@tacoma.k12.wa.us.