Events

College Depot

(Free Summer program at Tacoma Public Library)

Capture_College_Depot_video.JPG 
 

College Depot  at the Tacoma Public Library  is a 6 Week College Planning Series: Learn how to navigate college and career selection, admissions, finding scholarships, and the financial aid process in this multipart,  hands-on series.


2017 Dates: July 11 - 13 & 18 - 20  

Time: 3 - 5:30 pm 
LocationTacoma Public Library (Main Branch), Olympic Room
RegisterCollegedepotTacoma.com 
What: Free College Planning Series: Learn how to navigate college and career selection, admissions, finding scholarships, and the financial aid process in this 2-week series.

Session 1: Tuesday, 7/11/17 -  Know your options, research colleges, find the right fit. College Presenters: College Navigator Panel, Jessica Freier, Pierce College, jfreier@pierce.ctc.edu, Zach McKinlay, UW, zachMcK@uw.edu

Session 2: Wednesday, 7/12/17 - Writing the personal statement for college and scholarship applications.  Presenter: Write@253, Wendy Holcomb, Graduate Tacoma, Zach McKinlay, UW,

Session 3: Thursday, 7/13/17 -  Applying to College: 2 and 4-year process. Presenters: Maria Reyes, UWT, mariar9@uw.edu , Janet Holm, Clover Park Technical College?

Session 4: Tuesday, 7/18/17 -  Finding Scholarships. Presenters: Act 6, Taylor Tibbs, ttibbs@northwestleadership.org, Victoria West, WCAN, vwest@wcan.org, WSOS – Kyle Roffler, Graduate Tacoma, kroffler@graduatetacoma.org , Palmer Scholars?

Session 5: *Wednesday, 7/19/17 - Paying for college – financial aid resources. *Special session for parents and in English and Spanish.  Presenters: TCC – Shirley Siloi?, Ready to Rise, Lori Parrish?

Session 6: Thursday, 7/20/17- Preparing for the fall semester, staying organized and on track. Presenters: Brittany Jackson, UPS, bjackson@pugetsound.edu  

*Students attending all 6 workshop will be entered for a laptop award!

C Depot 2017.png
Questions? 
Contact the Tacoma Public Schools Community Partnership Office by phone at 253-571-7980 or email communitypartnership@tacoma.k12.wa.us. 


FAFSA & WASFA Completion Workshops:

Come prepared for the filing process with your most recent tax returns (2015 is fine), W2's and information about income (Social Security, business income, etc.)

FAFSA Info 2016.png
Please see your Career Counselor for more information on the 2016 - 2017 event dates.
  • Foss - Juanita Cantrell-Jeffereys
  • Lincoln - Jamila Jones
  • Mt. Tahoma - Angela Phillips
  • Oakland - Glenn Burden
  • SAMI/SOTA - Janet Hopkins & Michaele Sein-Ryan
  • Stadium - Natalie Hart
  • Wilson - Nancy Sprick