Community Service

Earn a Varsity Letter in Community Service

Volunteer service is an excellent way to grow yourself personally and professionally, strengthen your resume, connect to community mentors, and serve others.  Tacoma Public Schools is now offering students the opportunity it earn a Varsity Letter in Community Service if they complete 100 hours of service.

4 Steps to Earning your Varsity Letter 

  1. Complete the TPS Varsity Letter in Community Service Enrollment Form
  2. Download the Volunteer Service Log so that you can keep track of your hours - Volunteer Service Log (Print and Handwrite) 
  3. Volunteer at least 100 hours with a non-profit or government agency
  4. Submit the TPS Varsity Letter in Community Service Completion Form and upload your Volunteer Service Log within this form

Questions? Contact Brady Bekker, bbekker@tacoma.k12.wa.us

Looking for volunteer opportunities in the community?  

Consider reaching out to these organizations:

Associated Ministries: Mary Herman @ maryh@associatedministries.org

Children's Museum of Tacoma: Jen McDonald @ jmcdonald@playtacoma.org

City of Tacoma, Center for Urban Waters: Jacqueline Fuller @ jfuller@cityoftacoma.org

Community Youth Services: Ursula Zuker @ Uzuker@communityyouthservices.org

EarthCorps: Lisa Kenny @ lisa@earthcorps.org

Emercency Food Network: Caroline Comfort @ CarolineC@foodconnection.org

Foss Waterway Museum: Aarin Wilde @ aarin.wilde@fosswaterwayseaport.org

Hilltop Urban Gardens: hugoperations@gmail.com

Job Carr Museum: Holly Stewart @ hstewart@jobcarrmuseum.org

Lemay Car Museum: Terry Ball @ volunteer@americascarmuseum.org

Lutheran Community Services: Teri McKeown @ tmckeownSFS@lcsnw.org

Metro Parks Tacoma, Aquatics: Jenny Petty @ jenny.petty@tacomaparks.com

Metro Parks Tacoma, Community Outreach: Courtney Acoff @ courtneya@tacomaparks.com

Metro Parks Tacoma, Park Clean Ups (CHIP IN): Amy Boucher @ amyb@tacomaparks.com

Metro Parks Tacoma, Youth Services: Renee Ward @ reneew@tacomaparks.com

Metro Parks Tacoma, Youth Sports: Benton Lefton @ bentonl@tacomaparks.com

Metro Parks, Races and Walks: Ralph Thomas @ ralpht@tacomaparks.com

MultiCare: Theresa Lerma @ talerma@multicare.org or Julie Hubbard @ jphubbard@multicare.org

Nourish Pierce County: Haley McClure @ volunteer@nourishpc.org

Norwest Furniture Bank: Haley Haines @ volunteer@nwfurniturebank.org 

NW Trek: MacKenzie Schaefer @ MacKenzie.Schaefer@nwtrek.org

Pierce Transit: Penny Grellier @ pgrellier@piercetransit.org

Point Defiance Zoo and Aquarium: Alex Nicely @ alex.nicely@pdza.org

Tacoma Rescue Mission: Desniege Robison  @ DesniegeR@trm.org

Salvation Army: Stacy Blaisdell @ stacy.blaisdell@usw.salvationarmy.org

Tacoma Tree Foundation: Sarah Low @ info@tacomatrees.org

Trinity Presbyterian Church Tacoma: Rachel Boisen @ rachel@tpctacoma.org 

United Way of Pierce County: Allison Loft @ allisonl@uwpc.org

Washington State Historical Society: Susan Hesselgrave @ susan.hesselgrave@wshs.wa.gov

Washington State Office of Financial Management: Katherine Silley @ katharine.swilley@ofm.wa.gov

YMCA: Melissa Pulliam @ mpulliam@ymcapk.org