Washington Comprehensive Assessment of Science (WCAS)

What is the WCAS?

The Washington Comprehensive Assessment of Science (WCAS) measures the level of proficiency that students have achieved based on the Washington State Science and Learning Standards (WSSLS), formally known as the Next Generation Science Standards. For each grade from K – 5, at middle school and at high school, these standards describe what students should know in the four domains of science: physical science; life science; earth and space science; and engineering, technology and science application.

The WCAS fulfills the federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requirement that students be tested in science once at each level: elementary, middle, and high school.

Who takes the WCAS?

All students in grades 5, 8 and 11.

When is the WCAS administered?

The Office of Supervisor of Public Instruction (OSPI) establishes state assessment testing windows each school year. Districts and schools schedule state assessment administration dates within those OSPI windows; please contact your school or assessments@tacoma.k12.wa.us for details regarding planned state assessment dates.

Family Resources