PSAT/NMSQT Updates for Fall 2021

Who: 11th graders
When: 10/13 & 10/26
How: Paper/pencil test administration at student's school, during the regular school day 

  • TPS pays PSAT/NMSQT exam fees and pre-registers all enrolled 11th grade students.
  • Students should bring their student ID, two No. 2 pencils with erasers and an approved calculator.
  • TOL students will take the SAT at the Professional Center (PDC) located at 6501 N 23rd St. For more details, please contact TOL school administrators.
  • Please direct questions/concerns to the student's school.
  • Exam scores will be available in December.

What is the PSAT/NMSQT?

The Preliminary SAT / National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) is a standardized college admission exam that is used to determine eligibility and qualification for the National Merit Scholarship Program, and also serves as a practice test for the SAT. There are three sections on the PSAT/NMSQT: Math, Reading, and Language & Writing. The total testing time is 2 hours and 45 minutes, and it includes 139 questions.

Who takes the PSAT/NMSQT?

TPS offers the PSAT/NMSQT to enrolled 11th graders on several school days in the fall & winter. TPS pays the PSAT/NMSQT exam fees for enrolled TPS students and preregisters them for one of the offered sessions. Students in other grades, or those who prefer to take the test on a Saturday, may do so at their own cost.

How is the PSAT/NMSQT administered?

It is a paper/pencil exam administered at a school location.