Voter-approved construction bond funds districtwide improvements, upgrades

Over the summer, many of our schools received improvements to their buildings, grounds and playgrounds—changes approved by voters in the 2020 bond measure to replace aging neighborhood schools and make needed upgrades across the district.

Safety & Security
New safety and security upgrades across the district will start this year with Phase 1 schools to secure building entry systems and improve access control. That work includes:

  • Entry-card badge readers
  • Intercom systems
  • Video camera security systems

Lister Elementary was one of the schools to add a new entry control system at their main entrance. The system, which will improve security entry access, includes audio, video and buzz in options.

Phase 1 schools: Crescent Heights, IDEA, Reed, Lincoln, SOTA (195 site), SOTA (Ted Brown site), Foss, Silas, Gray, Jefferson, Giaudrone, Baker, Meeker, Hilltop Heritage, Truman.

Eleven elementary schools across Tacoma will receive new playground equipment as a part of the 2020 bond measure. Workers started demolition of the existing play equipment at Madison Early Learning Center and Franklin Elementary School and installed a new drainage system at Franklin.

Next summer, Lister, Edison, Crescent Heights, Blix, Northeast Tacoma, Point Defiance, Stanley, Sherman and Fern Hill will also receive playground improvements.

Plans continue to be made for the capital needs of the district to provide Tacoma Public School students, teachers and staff with updated and safe facilities. With the approval of the February 2020 capital bond, the district can continue to invest in what’s working for Tacoma kids with needed school improvements that provide safe and challenging learning environments.


Translate Our Website

Translate this page by clicking the flag button in the bottom right corner and selecting your preferred language.

Traduzca esta página haciendo clic en el botón de la bandera en la esquina inferior derecha y seleccionando su idioma preferido.


Dịch trang này bằng cách nhấp vào nút gắn cờ ở góc dưới cùng bên phải và chọn ngôn ngữ ưa thích của bạn.

오른쪽 하단에 있는 플래그 버튼을 클릭하고 원하는 언어를 선택하여 이 페이지를 번역합니다.

Перекладіть цю сторінку, натиснувши кнопку прапора в нижньому правому куті та вибравши потрібну мову.

Переведите эту страницу, нажав на кнопку с флагом в правом нижнем углу и выбрав желаемый язык.

Contact Us

Our Communications Department serves as a liaison to the community and provides various services to promote effective communication and partnerships. Contact us by email at or by phone at 253-571-1015.

Media Requests

Tanisha Jumper
Chief Communications Officer

Kathryn McCarthy
Assistant Director of Communications